8/11 Reading (Leviticus 10-12; Acts 6)

Leviticus 10: As I read this chapter I can’t help but think about the time in Exodus where God mentions that he’s not quick to anger. Within the first two verses, Aaron’s sons, the two who were consecrated, were killed by God. Here’s what happened: “Now Aaron’s sons, Nadab and Abihu, each took his censer, put fire in it, and laid incense on it; and they offered unholy fire before the Lord, such as he had not commanded them. ² And fire came out from the presence of the Lord and consumed them, and they died before the Lord” (Lev 10.1-2). This may make people mad, but that’s not an example of someone who isn’t quick to anger.

The remaining parts of this chapter indicates that others have to fulfill the rituals that God wanted Aaron and his sons to do. It’s an interesting chapter. I’m more amazed at how quickly the text moves past the death of Aaron’s sons.

Leviticus 11: This chapter is all about different dietary laws that followers must recognize. They are pretty extensive:

  1. “Any animal that has divided hoofs and is cleft-footed and chews the cud—such you may eat” (Lev 11.3). Cows good, pigs bad – all animals that don’t meet this criteria are considered unclean.
  2. “Everything in the waters that has fins and scales, whether in the seas or in the streams—such you may eat” (Lev 11.9). Anything that doesn’t meet this criteria was considered detestable.
  3. No criteria is listed for birds. Instead a list of specific birds is given: “They shall not be eaten; they are an abomination: the eagle, the vulture, the osprey, ¹⁴ the buzzard, the kite of any kind; ¹⁵ every raven of any kind; ¹⁶ the ostrich, the nighthawk, the seagull, the hawk of any kind; ¹⁷ the little owl, the cormorant, the great owl, ¹⁸ the water hen, the desert owl,a the carrion vulture, ¹⁹ the stork, the heron of any kind, the hoopoe, and the bat” (Lev. 11.13-19).
  4. “All winged insects that walk upon all fours are detestable to you. ²¹ But among the winged insects that walk on all fours you may eat those that have jointed legs above their feet, with which to leap on the ground” (Lev. 22.20-21).

The rest of the chapter talks about different situations where animals make you unclean as well as animals that we are supposed to detest. The chapter ends with this:

“This is the law pertaining to land animal and bird and every living creature that moves through the waters and every creature that swarms upon the earth, ⁴⁷ to make a distinction between the unclean and the clean, and between the living creature that may be eaten and the living creature that may not be eaten” (Lev. 11.46-47).

As I said, pretty extensive list of dietary rules to follow.

Leviticus 12: This chapter provides rules when it comes to childbirth. God explains to Moses how long women will remain unclean and how long blood purification will take. This is all dependent on the sex of the baby. If the baby is female, the time frame is doubled. Pretty harsh. On a personal note, my bride and I have twins, a boy and a girl. What was done in these situations?

Acts 6: This is a pretty short chapter. It seems like the chapter is simply setting up future chapters. The apostles chose 7 men to serve almost like representatives to the people, I think (perhaps deacons). It’s not totally clear to me what they will do. One is falsely accused of talking badly about Moses and charged with a crime. The chapter abruptly ends with him, Stephen, facing the council.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s